25.9 C
Cagayan de Oro
Wednesday, September 27, 2023

Oca appoints New HISCOM

Cagayan de Oro City Mayor Oscar S. Moreno inducted into office the new members of the City Historical and Cultural Commission on Tuesday, April 13 following the expiration of the term of all members who were appointed on February 10, 2016.
Nicolas P. Aca, Jr, the city’s pre-eminent performance artist and also a member of the previous set of Hiscom members has been appointed chairperson with the following as members: Patrick U. Gabutina, Kristian Ian S. Sulmayor, Clara Marie Asuncion Gonzales-Elizaga and Froilan O. Gallardo.
The appointments were made by virtue of City Ordinance No. 3554-93, as amended by City Ordinance No. 4560-94, creating the “Cagayan de Oro Historical and Cultural Commission,” which shall serve, among others, as an advisory body to the City Mayor and the City Council concerning local history and culture.
Executive Order No. 038-Series of 2021 further stressed the urgent need to reconstitute the membership of the Commission which shall spearhead efforts of the city government to preserve local history and promote Kagay-anon culture.
Two of the previous set of commissioners, Dr. Linda M. Burton and Dr. Glory M. Madale, passed away before the end of their appointed terms, while two others, Fr Dan Coronel and Mike Baños, resigned due to other pressing matters, leaving only Nicolas Aca as the sole remaining member.

- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img

Get the Latest News

Latest Articles

- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img