22.2 C
Cagayan de Oro
Monday, December 5, 2022

Advice to young writers

That was the message of Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Muntinlupa (PLMun) President, Dr. Elena E. Presnedi, to the awardees of the recently concluded 11 th Cesar S. Tiangco

Memorial Literary Awards.

Established in 2006, the Tiangco Awards recognizes budding young writers from Muntinlupa and environs.

Originally open only to students from Muntinlupa City, the award has since expanded its reach to also include student writers from Makati City, Taguig City, and Pasig City .

Cash prizes, medals and certificates are awarded to winners in six genres: Tula, Maikling Kuwento and Essay for high school students; Short Story, Essay and Fiction for college students.

The award celebrates the legacy of Cesar Sioson Tiangco, pioneer principal of Muntinlupa National High School (formerly Muntinlupa High School). Tiangco served as school head for three decades (1945-1976). He later became the principal of his alma mater, the Rizal High School.

Presnedi paid tribute to Tiangco who was not just an educator but also an accomplished writer.

“While serving his responsibilities in the schools he handled, he was able to produce and compile diverse literary works which led to awards and publications,” Presnedi said.

Presnedi urged the awardees to be guided by the following principles:

1. Write to express, not to impress. 2. Write to innovate. 3. Write to inspire. 4. Use
writing as a tool for transformation. 5. Use one’s skills in serving God and fellowmen, as well as our beloved City and Country.

Presnedi later presented the awards to the winners. She was joined by Engr. Romeo S. Navarro, Executive Director of the Tiangco Memorial Awards; this writer; Atty. Eleonor T. Hernandez, president of the Muntinlupa National High School Alumni Foundation; Madelyne Diaz, former principal of Muntinlupa Science High School and representative of Muntinlupa DepEd; Marilyn Bautista Latina, representative of Muntinlupa National High School; and Dr. Lucia B. Tiangco, representative of the Tiangco family.

In a fitting tribute to one of the Tiangco Awards founders, PLMun College of Arts and Science Dean Jaime G. Ang read “Lament of the Golden Jubilarians”, a poem written by Romeo S. Navarro.

The awardees:

High School Division

Gantimpalang Navarro-Martin sa Tula – 1 st Place – Nicole Sophia Sebilio, St. Bernadette Alabang High School; 2 nd Place (Joint) Beah Shekinah Aranjuez, Rizal High School (Pasig) and Jolina R. Abner, Pedro Diaz High School; Honorable Mention – Shantel Danizel Chavez, Western Bicutan National High School (Taguig); Fritz Vincent Molina, Muntinlupa National High School ; Jomely R. Baloloy, Muntinlupa Business High School; Daniel D. Macquian, Muntinlupa National High School; Adrian Russell Maang, Muntinlupa Business High School

Gantimpalang Romeo & Wilfredo P. Virtusio sa Maikling Kuwento – 1 st Place – Juliette Bang-ay, Pedro E. Diaz High School ; 2 nd & 3 rd Places – None; Honorable Mention – Carisse Lavelle de Villa, Rizal High School (Pasig); Maricel B. Castro, Western Bicutan High School (Taguig), Alyana Marie Soriano, Southernside Montessori School; Adrielle P. Dollison, Pedro E. Diaz High School

Eusebia N. Tibayan Memorial Prize for Essay – 1 st Place – Kyla B. Orbina, Muntinlupa Science High School; 2 nd Place (Joint) – Anya Nikita Donato & Melvic Malonzo, Muntinlupa Science High School; Honorable Mention – Rafael Matthew Aquino, Southernside Montessori School; Lyca Joy Alba, St. Bernadette High School (Alabang); Annie Lyn Olgina, Muntinlupa National High School; Anne Therese Margareth Lopez, Muntinlupa National High School

College Division

The Sofia Rivera de Bunye Memorial Prize for Essay – 1 st Place – John Manuel B. Padre, University of Makati College of Education; 2 nd Place – Jonathan S. Dellova, University of Makati College of Education

The Silvestre-Navarro Prize for Poetry – 1 st Place – Jesse Isaiah Raymundo, Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Muntinlupa College of Education; 2 nd Place – None

The Victoria Rivera Bunye Memorial Prize for Fiction – 1 st Place – Juan Manuel B. Padre, University of Makati College of Education; 2 nd Place – Geraldine E. Antonio, St. Bernadette College Alabang.

- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img

Get the Latest News

Latest Articles

- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img